Sexuality Studies Association – Association d'études de la sexualité

Welcome to the SSA | Bienvenue a l'AÉS

Post-AGM Announcements

Thanks to all SSA members who attended our ‘virtual’ AGM held on June 1st via Zoom. We have a few important announcements to share coming out of the AGM.

We would like to extend our congratulations to the 2020 SSA award winners. Emma McKenna was awarded the Thomas Waugh Emerging Scholar Award for her paper entitled “Civil Regulation of Sex Work in Toronto’s Cabbagetown, 1987”. Ricky Varghese is the recipient of the Academic Leadership in Sexuality Studies for 2020. Dr. Varghese will be hosting a special plenary session at the Annual Meeting of the SSA at the University of Alberta in 2021.

We want to welcome three new members to the SSA Steering Committee: Patrick Keilty (Treasurer/outgoing Mark Lipton), Cait McKinney (Programming Chair/outgoing Carol Dauda), Gary Lee Pelletier (Secretary/Ali Greey outgoing).

We would like to thank Mark Lipton and Carol Dauda for their years of service to the SSA.  Your dedication to the growth of the SSA and your mentorship are very much appreciated and your hard work has strengthened the Association immensely.

Finally, a revised final draft of our conference proceedings are available here.


This entry was posted on Friday June 5th, 2020 by .